PERFECTION OF PERPLEXION

Our Legacy with the help of some of my friends

Posted in fashion, Friends & Myself ? (maybe someday) by okkame on June 30, 2010

 

In the far fucking remote future, that could be possible but to our chagrin we live in the present and therefore we CAN’T download clothes and make them our own. Furthermore, we’re all broke (you aren’t? then lucky you … ). To vindicate fashion supremacy, one just needs to do one thing; to show how cool you look. Well, there’s a weird world where pathologically name-seeking, insipidly dressed but mildly fuckable korean female fashion journalists (what a waste of a job !) jabber on and on about how Anna Wintour is faboulous with erudite fashion boreledges but that world’s for morons so let the morons fuck themselves;  a purported asshole Susie Bubble is at least appreciatable for the opposite reason. Cut the crap (of what a fortune you’re born beautiful, how much I loathe fashion people and why I had to sever myself from the seductive world of fashion, and that is, of course mainly because I’m very poor) and Get to the bottom.

 

 

I’ve been drooling over this swedish clothing brand Our Legacy for quite a while and it’s almost sinful to know they’re getting this better and I’ll never be able to get any of these:

Hidden Harvest SS10 collection centre focus is the epic life of a well made garment. Like a person, a garment has a personal of its own. It can be intellectual, romantic, sensitive, experienced and much more. Hidden Harvest main filosophy is natural growed fabrics and personal identity.”

 

such immaculate stunners (if i must make an exception, that would be flamboyant cowboy boots) and perfect hipster outfits for guys who’ll love timewornly fresh pressed, reasonably high-priced, first-hand thrift store-ish garments – excuse me for oxymorons, aren’t they?

 

Here’s another goodie from Our Legacy

 

This jacket looks as if classic Merc harrington jacket is engineered.

+

a note from someone:  As you’d expect from the brand currently out-APC’ing APC, it’s an understated piece that could slot into anyone’s wardrobe.

*

Now that A.P.C. is mentioned, I am compelled to bring this hideous recent A.P.C. X Carhartt stuff.

 

 

I think I first saw A.P.C.’s goods via japanese fashion magazine Men’s Nonno circa 1999 (and the magazine’s date of the issue was way back) and I instantly related A.P.C. to Command & Conquer, one of the games I most enjoyed, because that’s where A.P.C. (Armored Personnel Carrier) went down in my memory.

They’d better collaborate with Command & Conquer, going full-on military look which indeed was their forte in the beginning.

 

Speaking of classic Merc harrington jacket, here are photos of my friends donning its kin. Maybe they don’t know what’s Merc since they never tried to be true mods like I did. And I think their jackets were thrifted.

 

 

 

Which one do you prefer? Like any good friends, we often rip off each other but be reminded I’m always the creative one. And also, Please Don’t Make A Rough Guess About Me Based On My Friends’ Looks. I’m much more handsome than these dudes. It’s The Truth. Although a very few of youz would find them cute, they actually resemble korea’s legendary comedian, Sim-Hyung-Rae who’s known for his too homely face and playing a notorious cretin, Young-Gu. My Friends above aren’t ugly yet as we know, sometimes you look like some ugly people but nonetheless can have quite o.k. looks.

 

 

He’s also a movie director. Have you 1. heard of,  2. or seen, D-War? I belong to the former and it’s unfortunate if you are of the latter. Anyways, He directed that movie. Can see you the similarity amongst these 3 koreans? My friends, the upper one is older and thus Big Hyung-Rae, the lower one is younger so he’s Little Hyung-Rae but those are not their official nicknames. I know you don’t give a shit about them.

Here come other photos you wouldn’t give a shit about. Some with celebs of hipster music world. If  you don’t know any of these two big names – whether or not you like their stuff, it’s just too sad – You’ve been listening to shitty music.

 

 

I guess you’ve never seen korean hipsters (Korean-Korean, not some of your cool Korean-American friends and Hipster Grifter – a korean adoptee) before this. I don’t count some nerdy dorky korean college indie boys who’ve been to Union Pool and babble nonsense about white hipsters after their coming back, or some vaguely fashionable (but quite plain), (below) average looking but pseudo-smart korean girls who love mostly Tortoise – Stereolab kinda shit and like to go to every worthless shows in NYC, or some pretty good looking (once in a way knockout) parsons-fit nyc type korean girls who got no culture but ostensibly cultural and go crazy over every cheap Electro music and have no idea why My Chemical Romance is the most gross band in the world. 

I mentored all of my friends, but why I am not able to move to america?

 

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anonymous said, on January 11, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    나 Anonymous는 씨발 좆나 좆밥이에혀~

    • okkame said, on January 11, 2011 at 6:52 pm

      어이 경기도 ? 아님 cool girl korean으로 검색해서 들어온 병신 양키인가? ㅋㅋㅋㅋ 이 나라가 너 같은 넘들 때문에 좆같은거다. 좆나 추리한 새끼가. 용케도 문장에 틀린 부분은 없네

  2. Rick-e said, on January 30, 2011 at 5:38 am

    i dont thing there are a lot of people in Korea that know merc is from mod roots. It was really weird when i realized sting was in quadro~

    • okkame said, on January 30, 2011 at 7:12 am

      Sting earned a lifelong cred thanks to his performance as the ACE. The quick sex scene in some narrow space (hmm was it on the street? I’m not sure. perhaps inside the porch of some house) is my favourite part of the film. I found myself drawn more to the Rockers. The Mods had better looking chicks, maybe. Time revealed they were two sides of the same coin, like punks and hippies. That reminds me of Ringo Starr’s witty remark; in answer to ‘Are you a mod or a rocker?’, “I’m a Mocker”.
      You seem more of a rocker dude. I’m a mocker with lower case “m”. hehe.

      • Rick-e said, on January 30, 2011 at 5:35 pm

        It was weird how tall he was. I think mine was just like in the house and the main character is trying to make his jeans all tight by waiting for them to dry. It just reminds me of people today.

        I think mods are more like “hip” at least in contemporary way. Like their into pills and like amphetamines and are more like ironic then like rockers.

        side note i am big fan of Our Legacy now. But so pricey . I will deal drugs to pay for our legacy.

        • okkame said, on January 30, 2011 at 10:34 pm

          The indie mutation of the Mods circa 2002? was very hip at first sight, which coincided with the Garage Rock and Post Punk revival (in that period, Pitchfork was still giving a shit about NME, often taunting the british over-the-hill). I dug out Makeout Club (it still exists) and the hipsters on myspace at that time, and was utterly shocked. Well, this inevitably exposes my age. In my opinion, the original mods (and the mod revivalists in a true sense) are rather tacky (nothern soul music hmm…quite boring). I go for their rock ‘n’ roll crossbred. I argue that the first C86/Twee-ers are essentially half-mod and half-punk.They were rock ‘n’ rolling on their own terms.

          plz don’t make me think of our legacy. I don’t even have a drug for my recreation.

          • Rick-e said, on February 1, 2011 at 2:44 am

            Mod revival came back liek twice in Britain, no? Like originally with blues music then later like late 70’s i think with that twiiggy shiz. i like girls with that kind of makeup though. very attractive. My mom used to do her makeup like that and i was like, whoa. mom had good taste. I dont think she listened to good music or did amphetamines though.

            How is korean scene? you should describe different scenes in korea. I imagine it being ummmmmm fashion girls and gays. and like “hip hop” boys.

            • Rick-e said, on February 1, 2011 at 2:45 am

              Korean boys actually dress like mod now that i think about it but liek more pastel-y

            • okkame said, on February 1, 2011 at 4:12 am

              Yeah, crucial (not only to the Mods, but also to the whole british culture) bands like The Kinks, The Who and a bevy of other freak beats acts were affiliated with All Mod Cons but the Mods were not so keen on Rock ‘N’ Roll; Northern Soul http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_soul was their bgm, which I find rather smarmy (I’m a fan of grittier Southern Soul). You know, I wanted to be a true mod but the music didn’t really win me over. Speaking in terms of music, Mod revival stuff http://punkmodpop.free.fr/ is basically generic power pop with the wide-eyed worship of the aforementioned initiators. The Jam is great. Oasis/Blur are also mod revivalists in more than a small way. Twiggy is the icon of that mod variant, Swinging London (where London assumably beat New York in regard to ‘hip culture’). Swinging London is still the best. Sexy, Glamorous, Hyper-Urban, Rock ‘N’ Roll which are not the features of the original mods (see The Yardbirds’ performance in antonioni’s masterpiece Blow-Up). Television Personalities are a significant bridge between the Mods and the Indies (they have a great song called “I was a mod before you was a mod”).

              Hmm korean scene… take it from me, they suck, culturally. You’re right. They only skim the surfaces and don’t bother becoming the constituents of The Culture, unlike formidable the anglophile asians living in the island below. I can write a tome about Koreans’ superficial and souless appropriations. Some Japs are super cool, they stay bonafide, sub-culture wise. Visit hxxp://www.thexoxokids.com/ here for info on a branch of the korean scene… I don’t like it but you may do.

  3. pmwhwo@gmail.com said, on May 2, 2014 at 3:38 am

    You can if you want to,that’s your choice.
    bloger http://www.lmodl.dk/administrator/efpxlaf.asp


Leave a Reply

