PERFECTION OF PERPLEXION

Ryan McGinley’s “Friends Forever” Featuring Smith Westerns and Girls

Posted in boys, music by okkame on September 18, 2010

 

 

 

Beautiful

I don’t even feel guilty about liking these two bands, Girls and The Smith Westerns. They simply rule, don’t they? The Smith Westerns singer boy is so cute. Is he asian?

_________________________________________________________________________________

via VICE:

Ryan McGinley just released a new short film called Friends Forever that he shot a few months ago at the Pitchfork festival. It focuses on Girls and Smith Westerns, two bands that everyone sort of lost their shit over last summer, as well as a fat kid with a red bandanna. It sort of evokes that primal urge to spend all day with your friends at a sweaty outdoor show in the middle of July.

Here’s what Ryan had to say about it:

Smith Westerns and Girls are two of my favorite bands right now. I first saw Smith Westerns play at this restaurant in a weird little mall in Chinatown, and there were only about five people there. I liked how their hair was always covering their eyes and you could barely see their faces. They were so cute; it was almost like watching a high school band. Smith Westerns went on tour with a band called Girls who I immediately fell in love with, so much so that I sent the singer-songwriter Chris Owens my last photography book along with a fan letter. They covered their entire stage with flowers––I loved that. Their song “Solitude” speaks to me more than any other song I can think of right now. I caught up with both bands at the Pitchfork festival to document their performances and be a fly on the wall the whole weekend. That’s pretty much my idea of a perfect vacation. And it was.

*
 
Chris Owens(of Girls) interview by Ryan McGinely: http://www.nowness.com/day/2010/9/16/977/ryan-mcginley-talks-to-girls
 
 

Leave a Reply

