PERFECTION OF PERPLEXION

nyunnom

Posted in boys, girls, photos by okkame on May 20, 2011

Helen Levitt, New York, 1972

 

 

 

Kahlil Gibran, The Prophet, 1923
 

 

Love one another but make not a bond of love:
Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.
Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.
Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf.
Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone,
Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.
Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.
For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.
And stand together, yet not too near together:
For the pillars of the temple stand apart,
And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

 

 

I dig this poem, but I as a scorpio am resistant to the wisdom it breathes out.

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2011 at 4:09 am

    it’s really important where people grow up! Look at what those kids are wearing and where they are hanging! I’ve seen tons of street photos of korean guys(maybe seoul kangnam?) carrying envelope-shaped bag in their hands!!! What’s wrong with those people?! Or it is okay to see their looking in personal not on the pics. I’m confused! Don’t get me wrong! I’m also a Korean!

    • okkame said, on May 26, 2011 at 6:04 am

      Nothing’s wrong with them except they are capable of fishing every delectable korean chick I’m terrified to approach at shitty hiphop clubs, I guess? an envelope-shaped bag? like this thingy? http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2292/5758314166_c74e899ae4_z.jpg (it doesn’t look a bag though. might be the hottest Korean trend I’m not aware of). Thank god, I am living far from Seoul/Kangnam,totally unaffected by its noxious snobbish culture. Anyways, I find the dude on the link ok looking even though I will never be seen exchanging words with this type of fashion douche and honestly want to demolish his wardrobe. More often than not people don’t look so different than they do on the pics. But one thing is for sure; these envelope-shaped d-bags will do you wrong far more greatly when you get to know them if you found them wrong in the first place. It’s important you made it clear that you’re a Korean. Much as I am one of the world’s most eminent critics of the contemporary Korean culture, I am prone to throw my cantankerousness at non-Koreans bashing any kind of Koreaness (but then again, I take out my meanest and airdrop it into those touristy temple-going gastronomic foreigners praising Korea and Korean culture waving their radiant green cards when my third-world working class Bourdieuian discernment is stimulated by my own *fateful* dissatisfaction and their privileged inaneness.)
      * Pay a visit to http://thecracker.co.kr/ -> Contents -> Attack Your Wardrobe if you want to discover more favorable Korean preeners. I jokingly denounced one of my friends as a soul-deprived sell-out for appearing on this magazine. But I don’t hate it. It’s just that Fashion People suck and blow.


Leave a Reply

