PERFECTION OF PERPLEXION

1,000,000 kisses

Posted in boys, girls, music by okkame on August 22, 2011

 

 

 

“1,000,000 kisses” is great Half Japanese’s possibly most popular and exoteric song. It is a simple and charming love (or hate) song sung by a jilted lover (or a megalomaniac rejectee) who is or is like Jad Fair. The lyrics go like this;

 

“It didn’t worked out like I had planned it
But it did worked out better than I thought it would
Lots, lots better
Way, way better
You hurt my feelings more than once
And made me feel bad once or twice
I thought if I got you jealous
You might want me more and treat me better

1,000,000 kisses for 1,000,000 girls
And no kisses left for you
1,000,000 kisses for 1,000,000 girls
And I did all for you

It didn’t worked out like I had planned it
You didn’t even care
You didn’t treat me any better
But now I don’t even care because

1,000,000 kisses for 1,000,000 girls
And no kisses left for you
1,000,000 kisses for 1,000,000 girls
And I did all for you

And me”

 

Sounds freaking malicious for a guy like  Jad Fair, doesn’t it?

 

At any rate, this song is great. But who gives a shit about 1,000,000 kisses unless they’re for 1,000,000 boys by girls ? So it’s time you gave a shit or two because recently, a decade-old Kiwi all-girl indie pop band named The Gladeyes covered “1,000,000 kisses.” and made it public for us boys, and moreover with a lovely music video. Their cover is cheery and sunshiny on top of being cute and sweet, that is to say it rules ! 

 

  

 

The Gladeyes are on the same New Zealand label as The Brunettes (Hmm, you don’t know them? They’re Sub Pop signees along with a fellow New Zealander The Ruby Suns. Quite a coup for Kiwis to be on Sub Pop …). Shelflife (an illustrious -at least to the 22-year-old me – SF-based indie/twee pop label), The Softies, Au Revoir Simone …. You know what comes after all these. Check out their homepage if you remember Soulseek’s tweefolks room. I ate my words, check it out anyway because they’re good and you can access a lot of  their free Bandcamp stuff via their homepage.  

Leave a Reply

