PERFECTION OF PERPLEXION

nyunnom

Posted in boys, girls, music by okkame on August 23, 2011

Julie Cafritz  and Bob Bert on tour in Japan, 1988.

 

 

Falling back to the horrid Korean environments means the restored proximity to those retching Korean indie lunkeheads and their whole lamentable idiocy and sophomoric priggery which obliges me to acknowledge the severe reality of my being one of their enthno-cultural ilk, and thus a lot more frequencies of me getting all miffed up. They tweet as they stink (every fucking minute) and I see the word “hipster” erringly pop out of their collective skunk den each day – granted, I patronize there on a daily basis. And there’s no better fair game on which I can foolishly blame my misery than those fools. Experienced readers of this blog would know why and how I hate them so I pass on that, but not without earnest invectives; “You obscenely fat-brained culturally incompetent fugly spoilt middle class stuck-ups, please stop your gibberish on NY hipsters  and all the related non sequiturs. You will never get it and be cool despite all your meta-Korean privileges because you’re born to suck an be lame. You’re not even treatable.”

How can they be so tasteless and clueless when nearly every code is exposed on the interweb to be parsed? Let me take SUP magazine, which I’ve known about for a while but didn’t bother to visit until I googled Sic Alps’ new 7″ Breadhead, as an example. A 30 seconds-scan of their website is enough to discern what a coterie of bonafide NY hipsters relishes and stands for. What? You’re running short of time? Then you’re not hipster enough. Try harder ! * Don’t get me wrong, I dislike them hipsters as people as much as the next indignant low class man does; However, I can’t deny the fact that they appreciate and create some decent stuff and I am forever infatuated with it. Mind you, I’m not a hipster as a person and in a sociological sense.

Sup magazine is releasing their amazing features from Issue 24 one at a time, every few days. An interview of Laurel Halo a.k.a Ms. Oneohtrix Point Never is coming soon, and a Sic Alps inteview by none other than the hipster dreamboat Thurston Moore is already waiting  for your reading pleasure with an exclusive stream of Sic Alps’ freshly-digitized song Breadhead * Argh-um, A “it’s not currently available” message showed up after I streamed it about 4 times and the total play number of the song at that time was 7. Maybe they decided to punish me for my piratical tendencies or simply Drag City is in on it? In any case, this Sic Alps interview should be great. But i won’t give a link to it as I’m terrified by pingback. So click on the Sup Magazine link above instead to read it. The least we can expect from these underground music pundits here is that they go all Forced Exposure. 

 

Here’s a teaser;

 

– When Matthew arrived, Thurston led everyone slowly through a small alley, to a shop he said was “Julia Cafritz from Pussy Galore’s ex-husband’s furniture store”, a slick spot full of brightly colored new modern called Artifact 20th Century. ” –

 

Julia Cafritz has an ex-husband !!!

 

– Matt: Yeah I’ve been waiting to put The Olatunji Concert (John Coltrane, 2001) on, for fear that it’s going to drive everyone else insane. –

 

Coltrane’s The Olatunji Concert is the most raw and harrowing yet spiritually uplifting album I’ve ever heard. A true musical tour de force !!!  Harry Pussy even feels just like a pussy compared to the sounds of this astounding album. Harsher than the harshest noise but it’s high-minded and highly musical. To you incredulous hipster wannabe Pitchfork-reading squares; Pitchfork even gave this album a 1 0. (I knew this because I came to know about The Olatunji Concert from the above linked pitchfork review back then. hahaha !)

Leave a Reply

