PERFECTION OF PERPLEXION

Max Ernst’s Une semaine de bonté

Posted in Art, comics by okkame on October 10, 2010

 

 

 

“The images of Une semaine de bonté are among the most enigmatic and fascinating manifestations of Surrealism. Linked together with loose and intertwined storylines, they offer opportunity for discovery and interpretation. In these works Ernst found images for dreams, drives, demonic metamorphoses, rites of initiation, transitory moments, and mythical, religious and erotic encounters in which the laws of logic and nature are suspended.”

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amy said, on October 11, 2010 at 4:57 am

    I think your blog is fantastic! It’s really hard to come by a blot with interesting (well-curated?) images and good writing that’s not pretentious.

    • okkame said, on October 11, 2010 at 9:32 am

      Oh, thanks. I think your kind words are what make my blog fantastic, and thereby now it is fantastic in a conclusive form. I’m just very good at pirating and cunningly exhibiting my booty as if they were the heirlooms inherited from my (declasse) noble family. So you’d know I prefer to be called “Duke” to “Captain”. Everyone is my guest in my sumptuous house. Help yourself, you’re always welcome.


Leave a comment